Inderbir S. Gill

Inderbir S. Gill

Inderbir S. Gill, MD, chair of urology at the Keck School of Medicine of USC, has been named a Distinguished Professor by USC President C. L. Max Nikias.

USC Provost Michael Quick, PhD, announced the appointment Feb. 6 in a memo to faculty and staff. Also announced were the appointments of English professor Aimee Bender, MFA, as Distinguished Professor, and Seeley G. Mudd Professor of Engineering Shanghua Teng, PhD, as University Professor.

“These exceptional faculty members have brought immense honor to the university,” Quick said. “Please join me in congratulating them on their appointments.”

In addition to his role as associate dean (clinical innovation) at the Keck School, Gill is the Hanson-White Chair in Medical Research and chair of the Catherine and Joseph Aresty Department of Urology and the executive director of the USC Institute of Urology. An internationally recognized leader in the field of robotic and laparoscopic surgery for urologic cancers, Gill and his team are the world leaders in robotic partial nephrectomy for kidney cancer and have among the world’s largest experience in robotic surgery for prostate and bladder cancer. He and his team have performed these procedures in more than 13,000 patients to date.

His awards include the Dr. B.C. Roy National Award for Eminent Medical Person, the first time a physician living outside of India was recognized with this esteemed national award. Gill also was awarded the St. Paul’s Medal by the British Association of Urological Surgeons, the highest honor bestowed by the organization. He has published over 700 peer-reviewed scientific papers, with more than 26,000 citations, and eight textbooks. Gill is the PI/Co-PI of three grants from the National Institutes of Health and his H-index is 92, making him the second-highest cited urologist in active surgical practice in the world.

Gill joins fellow Keck School Distinguished Professors Jae Jung, PhD, Distinguished Professor and Chair of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, and Fletcher Jones Foundation Chair in Molecular Microbiology and Immunology; Francine Ratner Kaufman, MD, Distinguished Professor Emerita of Pediatrics; Michael M.C. Lai, MD, PhD, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology and Neurology; Alexandra M. Levine, MD, Distinguished Professor Emerita of Medicine; Shahbudin H. Rahimtoola, MD, Distinguished Professor of Medicine and holder of the George C. Griffith Chair in Cardiology; Jonathan Samet, MD, MS, Distinguished Professor and Chair of Preventive Medicine and holder of the Flora L. Thornton Chair of Preventive Medicine; and Vaughn Starnes, MD, Distinguished Professor and Chair of Surgery and holder of the H. Russell Smith Foundation Chair for Stem Cell and Cardiovascular Thoracic Research.